
Introduction
Picking tax software looks easy until you reach the checkout page. The "free" product wants an upgrade once you add a 1099, and the state return costs extra. The most popular option may not support your situation at all.
The right choice depends on your return's complexity, the schedules you need, your state filings, how much expert help you want, and what you will actually pay.
The 2027 filing season covers tax year 2026. Several vendors still show tax year 2025 prices, so every figure below is labelled with what the vendor stated. Confirm current pricing before you pay.
This article compares TurboTax, H&R Block, TaxAct, FreeTaxUSA, and Cash App Taxes.
Key Takeaways
- Wage-only filers can often file free; self-employment, rentals, and investments usually trigger paid tiers.
- Compare total cost: federal, state, expert help, and refund-processing fees.
- FreeTaxUSA and Cash App Taxes suit budget filers; TurboTax and H&R Block suit those who want guidance.
- Confirm 2027 pricing, supported forms, and eligibility right before filing.
Overview of Tax Software for IRS Form 1040 in the U.S. Market
The IRS describes Form 1040 as the U.S. individual income tax return. Tax software walks you through income, deductions, credits, payments, and e-filing.
Simple vs. involved returns
A simple return has W-2 wages and the standard deduction. Complexity comes from attached schedules and forms:
- Schedule C and Schedule SE for self-employment
- Schedule D and Form 8949 for capital gains
- Schedule E for rental income
- Form 8863 for education credits
- Schedule 8812 for child-related credits
- Form 2555, Form 8938, and a separate FBAR filing for foreign activity
Consumer vs. professional software
Consumer products are built for individual filers. CPA firms use separate professional platforms with broader return libraries, workflow controls, diagnostics, and client management. This comparison covers consumer and small-taxpayer options only.
Free filing options exist outside commercial software too. For the 2026 season, IRS Free File partnered with software providers for taxpayers with AGI up to $89,000, and IRS Direct File was suspended in October 2025. Check the IRS site for 2027 terms.

Best Tax Software for IRS Form 1040 in 2027
We scored each product on five things:
- Form and schedule coverage
- Ease of use
- Federal and state pricing
- Expert support and guarantees
- Security
Prices below come from official vendor pages. Where a vendor did not name the tax year, that is noted below.
TurboTax
TurboTax is the strongest pick for guided, interview-style preparation. Its Free tier (reported at $0 federal and $0 state, with about 37% of filers qualifying per the vendor) covers simple returns. Schedule A, unemployment income, 1099-NEC business income, investment sales, and rentals push you to a paid tier.
Tax year 2025 Expert Assist Premium was listed at $209 federal plus state. Refund processing costs $40 if you pay fees from your refund. Full Service pricing and paid-tier DIY prices should be confirmed at checkout.
| TurboTax | |
|---|---|
| Best for | Guided preparation, complex returns with expert review |
| Free tier | Simple returns only |
| Federal cost | $0 Free; Expert Assist Premium $209 (TY2025) |
| State cost | Confirm at checkout |
| Expert help | Expert Assist tiers, Full Service |
| Strengths | Guided interview, accuracy and maximum-refund guarantees, MFA |
| Limits | Costs climb fast with upgrades; Audit Support is informational, not representation |
H&R Block
H&R Block pairs a solid online product with the option of professional help. Its online page (tax year not stated) lists Free at $0, Deluxe at $65, Premium at $105, and Self-Employed at $130 federal. Paid state returns were $49 each.
Free covers W-2 income, limited interest and dividends, EITC/CTC, unemployment, and student-loan interest. Rentals, capital gains, business income, and foreign income require an upgrade. Premium handles investment sales and rentals.
| H&R Block | |
|---|---|
| Best for | Filers who may want pro help or in-person backup |
| Federal cost | $0 / $65 / $105 / $130 |
| State cost | $49 per state, paid tiers |
| Assistance | Online expert help in paid tiers; Worry-Free audit coverage is a paid add-on |
| Formats | Online, document upload, prior-return import |
| Limits | Refund transfer $42; amending from Free requires an upgrade |
TaxAct
TaxAct is a value pick with clear tier mapping. Listed federal prices (year not stated) are Free $0, Deluxe $59.99, Premier $99.99, and Self-Employed $109.99. Free allows only a Form 1040 with no attached schedules.
State pricing is inconsistent across its own pages ($54.99 vs. $64.99 with Premier), so check at checkout. Xpert Assist starts at $45 plus state.
| TaxAct | |
|---|---|
| Best for | Budget-minded filers with investments or side income |
| Forms | Premier covers investments, crypto, rentals, FBAR; Self-Employed covers gig income |
| Federal cost | $0 / $59.99 / $99.99 / $109.99 |
| State cost | About $54.99 to $64.99 each |
| Guarantees | Maximum Refund; accuracy guarantee capped at $100,000 cumulative |
| Limits | Free tier is narrow; state fees extra |
FreeTaxUSA
FreeTaxUSA is the best fit for cost-conscious filers with complicated returns. Its tax year 2025 pricing was $0 federal and $15.99 per state. Amending a current-year return was $16.98, waived with paid support.
Optional extras were Deluxe Support at $7.99, Pro Support at $64.99, and Audit Defense at $19.99. Its forms list includes Schedules C, D, and SE, plus Forms 8949, 8863, and 8938.
| FreeTaxUSA | |
|---|---|
| Best for | Low-cost filing across most situations |
| Federal cost | $0 (TY2025) |
| State cost | $15.99 (TY2025) |
| Support | Deluxe $7.99; Pro $64.99 with professional review |
| Limits | Foreign earned income (Form 2555) and nonresident returns unsupported; less hand-holding |
Cash App Taxes
Cash App Taxes advertised $0 federal and state filing for the 2026 season (tax year 2025), including complex returns. Its forms list covers Schedules C, D, E, and SE, plus Forms 8949 and 8863.
The catch is geography. It supported 40 states plus DC and did not support multi-state or part-year/nonresident state returns. Support is not tax advice. Its accuracy guarantee reimburses up to $1,000 in qualifying penalties and interest, with exclusions.
| Cash App Taxes | |
|---|---|
| Best for | Single-state filers who want free filing |
| Cost | $0 federal and state (TY2025 season) |
| Coverage | Schedules C, D, E, SE; Forms 8949, 8863 |
| Security | Encryption, two-factor verification |
| Exclusions | Multi-state and part-year returns; check unsupported states |

How We Chose the Best Tax Software for IRS Form 1040
We favoured official vendor documentation, IRS guidance, and fit over brand popularity or the lowest headline price.
What we compared
- Form coverage: whether the product handles your schedules (self-employment, investments, rentals, education, dependents, multiple states).
- Full cost: federal, state, extra states, expert review, audit support, amendments, and refund-payment fees.
- Usability: guided questions, prior-year import, document upload, error checks, mobile access, and save-and-resume.
- Security: encryption, multi-factor authentication, and clear data-use terms.
Check that a provider appears in the IRS list of authorized e-file providers. Authorisation is a status check, not a quality ranking. IRS Publication 4557 recommends safeguards such as authentication and encryption, but a vendor's marketing page does not prove compliance. Read its privacy terms for affiliate sharing and advertising opt-outs.

When software is not enough
Consider a qualified professional if you have:
- Complex business ownership
- Significant foreign income or cross-border assets
- Complicated investments
- Unresolved prior-year issues
- An IRS notice that remains unresolved
- A need for forward-looking tax planning
Software completes a return. It does not advise you.
Conclusion
The best 2027 Form 1040 software supports your actual forms and schedules at a transparent total cost, with enough support to file accurately. For most simple returns, free tiers work. For self-employment or investments, FreeTaxUSA and TaxAct keep costs low, while TurboTax and H&R Block add guidance and expert access.
Before paying or submitting, confirm:
- Current IRS requirements
- State availability
- Pricing and privacy terms
- Support options
If your situation goes beyond a standard Form 1040, such as cross-border or India-related income, VJM Global offers tax, accounting, and advisory support. That includes Form 1040 and 1040-NR preparation for U.S. individual taxpayers, with offices in India and the United States. Confirm fit for your specific engagement first.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which income tax software is best?
It depends on return complexity, budget, state filings, and desired expert help. TurboTax and H&R Block suit guided filing; FreeTaxUSA and Cash App Taxes suit low cost. Confirm 2027 pricing and features before you file.
What is the most popular software used for filing taxes?
A Citi survey of more than 2,000 taxpayers, reported in 2025, found 60% used TurboTax. That is a survey, not an IRS market-share count, and it reflects individuals rather than professional preparers.
What tax software do most CPAs use?
CPAs typically use professional platforms. In the 2026 AICPA survey, UltraTax CS led at 22.3%, followed by Lacerte at 16.7% and Drake at 14.3%.
How much should it cost to have an accountant do your taxes?
Fees vary with forms, state filings, location, and service level. The NSA's 2024 summary reported $300 to $600 for itemized returns. Ask for a written quote that matches your forms, states, and service level.
What is the $600 tax rule?
Two separate rules get confused. The Form 1099-K threshold reverted to $20,000 and 200 transactions. The former $600 threshold for certain 1099-NEC/MISC payments rises to $2,000 for tax years beginning after 2025. A 1099 form doesn't decide whether income is taxable.